PRESS RELEASE Philippine Embassy, Canberra 1 Moonah Place, Yarralumla, ACT 2600 * Tel. No. 02-6273-2535 *

1 Moonah Place, Yarralumla, ACT 2600 www.philembassy.org.au



Philippine Embassy Team Wins 2nd Place in the 2nd ASEAN Family Bowling Tournament



The Philippine Embassy bowling team is awarded 1st Runner Up in the 2nd ASEAN Family Bowling Tournament on 05 August 2018 in Canberra.

CANBERRA, Australia – The Philippine Embassy in Canberra Bowling Team won second place in the 2nd ASEAN Family Bowling Tournament on 05 August 2018 in Canberra. The High Commission of Brunei brought home the championship trophy.

The ASEAN Family Bowling Tournament was first initiated by H.E. Minda Calaguian-Cruz, Philippine Ambassador to Australia, in 2017 in celebration of the 50th Anniversary of ASEAN and as part of the Philippines' contribution as Chair of ASEAN. Since then, the event was institutionalized as part of the calendar of the annual activities of the ASEAN Committee in Canberra.

In recognition of Ambassador Calaguian-Cruz's initiative to bring together ASEAN colleagues and family members through sports, the ASEAN Committee in Canberra presented an appreciation award to the Philippine Ambassador.

Ambassador Calaguian-Cruz, H.E. Zakaria Ahmad, High Commissioner of Brunei Darussalam, and Mr Chatoulong Bouasisavath, Deputy Head of Mission of the Embassy of the Lao PDR, led the presentation of prizes.

The members of the Philippine Embassy bowling team were Mr. Edgardo Sison, Atty. Rodolfo Sabulao, Mrs. Rowena Sierra, Mr. Roderick Sierra, and Mr. Antonio Saquing Jr. END



H.E. Minda Calaguian-Cruz, Philippine Ambassador to Australia, is awarded by H.E. Zakaria Ahmad, High Commissioner of Brunei Darussalam, and Mr Chatoulong Bouasisavath, Deputy Head of Mission of the Embassy of the Lao PDR, for her initiative in organizing the ASEAN Family Bowling Tournament in Canberra.



The ASEAN Heads of Mission and their representatives prepare themselves for a ceremonial toss to officially start the 2nd ASEAN Family Bowling Tournament on 05 August 2018 in Canberra.